A Time to Reflect

Inspo quote-2What a blessing to have time to reflect during a global pandemic.  I know not everyone has time to think or meditate during the chaos that has become our lives.  I have close friends and family in healthcare, and I see the wear and tear on their faces.  They don’t have time to think about what’s going on, and they certainly won’t have time to read my blog.  If you do have time, I recommend thinking about where you are and where you want to be in the midst of this crisis.  Are you defeated?  Are you pessimistic?  Or are you finding joy in the little things?

As my eyes open each morning, I count the hours until the noon update on the Department of Health website.  Healthy?  No.  But I’m not perfect.  I know the overconsumption of news and social media can cause anxiety and despair.  Yet, I seek it out once a day.  As I write this blog, there are 137 recorded COVID-19 deaths in Louisiana.  Our friend felt it first-hand when he lost his grandmother this week. I want to be informed and I want to be appropriately cautious about what I do and say in the light of the global crisis. But I can’t sit with the bad news for too long.

I’m also seeking out positivity and creating space for little ‘pick-me-ups’ throughout the day.  Did you know the Cincinatti Zoo is hosting Home Safari videos on their Facebook page? They are!  We’ve relaxed our screen time rules for Junior to watch Fiona the Hippo and others interact with animal trainers at the zoo.  It’s been a fun and lighthearted way to switch up family time.  I also watch the Start Today morning show with Rachel and Dave Hollis when I can.  Often lighthearted and accompanied by music, I look for their insight and inspiration on a daily basis.

Ironically, this time of isolation has brought us together in some ways.  While we are physically separated, we are commiserating in ways that are so rare.  It isn’t often we can say collectively, “I know what you’re going through.”  It’s true for now, and it might be true for a while.  We are collectively going through a tough time.  How did you get through the last hard thing?  Share your experiences to get through this hard thing.

I’ve been through hard things.  I made it through those hard things.  And it’s funny how quickly we can forget how strong we are. “It is [your] attitude at the beginning of a difficult task which, more than anything else, will affect its successful outcome.” This quote by William James really resonates with me right now.  I get grief for being overly optimistic at times, but it sure does beat the alternative.  I often think back to pregnancy and childbirth, and man, that was rough.  But I came out the other side stronger than I ever imagined. I’ve made it through hard things before, and I’ll make it through this.

I’m hopeful that the spread of the virus slows and that we can regain some sense of normalcy.  But in the meantime, I lean on my experience and my tenacity.  Tenacity is your ability to make it through, or, your persistence.  I encourage you to do the same.  Look for examples where you have made it through hard things.  Look for examples where we have made it through hard things.  Think about the challenges we have faced as a community, especially on the Gulf Coast.  Think about our American history and what our grandparents saw during the Great Depression.  Think about the soldiers in our families who have fought and died in service of their country.  We have made it through hard things before, and we will make it through this.

About tperrynola

Happily married lawyer, public defender. I find writing to be a wonderful outlet for feelings, both good and bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment